top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Hostetler

My little display Case

Many walk right past the display case outside my library, but there are times where I see a passerby stop and take a look. Sometimes, they even ask about one of the books, and then my week is made.


I haven't been very good about taking pictures of the displays, but here are a few.

For most of my big signs, I use Rasterbator (not a great name, but a great tool) since we do not have a big color poster maker or a Cricut.


Also I follow @greatlibrarydisplays on Instagram for some great inspiration (a couple of mine have been highlighted on there as well. yay!)

 

FALL Displays


The leaves were just cut-outs that I found from the previous librarian and I connected them with yarn to hang from the ceiling. The sign was made on Canva. Here's the template.





This year...

I used some of the same props from last year, but added more.



I added a spooky forest background and created two trees with construction paper rolls on the sides. I didn't want to make it completely Halloween-themed, so that I could keep it up until Thanksgiving. As usual, I used Canva and Rasterbator to put the sign together.


 

Winter Displays


One of my first years, I had a Starbucks card giveaway promotion, so I used this display as a tie-in to it.

I used Canva to create the signage (here's a menu template, the frap, and the coffee).

I just downloaded the Starbooks design from Google.




Last year's display...




This was one of my favorite displays. I was lucky that some of my student aides helped me make the snowflakes. We used them for the display and within the Media Center.


Again, here's a template for the sign.















For the Winter Olympics, I kept my snow but added some patriotic decor with fiction and non-fiction sports books.













I typically use a variety of plastic tablecloths for my displays and back walls since they are light to hang up and the colors don't fade as quickly as paper.













 

Spring Displays



To get ready for spring break, I broke out some old maps and atlases. I highlighted books that had some type of travel in the story, so even if students couldn't go anywhere physically for break, they could travel with a book.



For some displays, I let my student aides show their creativity. My aide Emily made all the butterflies out of old book pages, then attached some to wood dowels to make it look like they were exploding from the book. She also made multiple paper flowers, although some are hard to see in the picture.





Last year, I took some her elements and added a tree and woodland creatures. Spring Sign



Please leave me a comment with any questions or suggestions.

Happy decorating!
48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page