top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Hostetler

All Fun and Games

Updated: May 5, 2021

Hosting a Small Bridal Shower with a Timeline Party Game



We were so excited to plan a shower for my brother Simon and his beautiful fiance Cammi. My sister Claire and I immediately visited Pinterest and Etsy to get some ideas to make it picture perfect.





Simon and Cammi live in Dallas and my brother hasn't lived in our hometown for years, so this shower was the perfect way for our family and friends to get to know them better.

We chose to have a small gathering at a local restaurant since we had just recovered from hosting a graduation party and had many out-of-town guests for the 4th of July holiday.

Tommy B's Clubhouse has a lounge with a bar, tables, couches and patio access, which was the perfect set-up for our shower. We chose heavy appetizers (soup, sandwiches, coconut shrimp, caprese kabobs, etc), and it was delicious. They were very helpful with planning and kept everyone happy with cocktails and hot food.

A couple of Etsy finds decorate the lounge


Outside the Venue

As guests entered, I had signs at both entrances to greet them. I traced the lettering and flowers from Publisher docs that I printed. It matched the napkins my sister found on Etsy.


I used Bombshell Pro font to match the napkins and invites.

Our invitations also resembled the napkins as well.

 

A Different type of Shower Game


Since Simon and Cammi don't live in our area, we wanted a game that helped our guests get to know them. They both have lived several places, gone to a couple of different schools, and visited multiple countries.


We used pictures from the game as decor on the tables at the beginning of the shower.








Therefore, I created a timeline game where the guests worked in groups to correctly place pictures on timeline in the least amount of time.









Dates had different backgrounds to correspond with either Simon or Cammi's events.

Photos were mounted on foam core and could be attached and detached with velcro on board.

My sister and I put guests in teams to play the game, and they were able to meet new people as well.


We also gave them subtle hints as teams placed pictures. When they felt they were done, we counted the correct placement and jotted down how long they took.



Then, when everyone finished, we put Cammi on the spot.




We had Cammi take her shot at correctly placing the pictures. It was also a great chance for her (and me) to talk about important events in her life, so our friends were able to learn more about her and my brother.








 

Other Fun Shower Additions


Party Cakes by Mitzi made a wonderful cake for us. We added flowers that were wedding colors.



Wedding dress cookies that my aunt brought from St. Louis made wonderful favors.











I decorated strawberries in dresses and tuxes for an additional dessert.














It was a wonderful day and a blessing to be able to celebrate such an awesome couple. We love our new sister!





90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page